Thirst

Standard
Image courtesy of digitalart / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of digitalart / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I sat at the window looking out in awe
Bags piled on back, water bottles in hand
The stream never ending flowed on and on
Melody in chatter and giggles I could discern

My eyes started flowing, hands trembled like leaves
I looked up at the skies and sent a prayer small
A prayer it was just small for them to concede
A prayer it was big for me, small

I looked at my legs and willed them to move
They wobbled; they struggled, sent me crashing to the ground
The cry from my lips set the house abuzz
A commotion it was there by my side

The pain from the fall was not new to me
The pain would leave, I knew without any doubt
But the pain within was deep, disturbing
Residing deep, troubling throughout

I looked through the window, the stream was still flowing
I looked at Dad, said I was thirsty, wanting to drink
The thirst for knowledge, the thirst to be part of the stream
Had to be quenched or I’d fall prey to fate worse than disability

The cry was heeded, my being blessed
Strong arms carried me all the way to school
Formalities over, I became a part of the stream
Drops of water (knowledge), drenched me to the core

But the thirst for knowledge still drives me on
I read and read, I write and write
Words take shape in ink in this pen of mine
Only to flow in black and white

Image courtesy of africa / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of africa / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I AM BLESSED

*******************************************************************

Inspired by the theme ‘Thirsty‘ on Theme Thursday

Inviting you to also visit my other blog i.e. CANVAS

By the way don’t forget to leave your footprints in the form of comments and suggestions. Your words mean a lot to me.

About Geeta Nair

Born in Independent India to two really wonderful people who cherished and nourished me with great care, I consider myself lucky to have had the best that life could offer me. Lucky to have had the best education , the best sibling, the best husband, the best daughter,the best of everything that I could ever want, Love to live life on my terms .

17 responses »

  1. “The thirst for knowledge, the thirst to be part of the stream
    Had to be quenched or I’d fall prey to fate worse than disability”

    Beautiful lines. The emotions of that a child wanting to go to a school to gain knowledge and education is so aptly depicted. Kudos. 🙂

    Like

  2. But the thirst for knowledge still drives me on – I think that thirst is never quenched, at least I hope mine isn’t ever otherwise what would drive me on? Great poem.

    Like

  3. But the thirst for knowledge still drives me on
    I read and read, I write and write
    Words take shape in ink in this pen of mine
    Only to flow in black and white

    bEAUTIFUL VERSE.
    Thirst for knowledge and learning should always continue.

    Like

  4. Wonderfully put Geeta. This is an unending thirst isn’t it? There always is so much to learn no matter how old you grow or how much you read. I wish every child had this thirst.

    Like

Leave a Reply

