The treasure of life

Standard

Memories are treasures that we take out from the deep recesses of our mind once in a while, wipe, polish and then put back to take out some other time. Memories can be happy ones, sad ones, emotional, fleeting… However I personally prefer taking out the happy ones, the ones I can share and enjoy, ones that bring a smile to my lips and not a cry. Celebrating ‘The festival of words’ on Write Tribe’ here is mine inspired by the theme -‘Memories’

Image courtesy of adamr at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of adamr at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

The mirror looked at me and said
My! You have left your youth behind
You are not what you used to be
Bubbly as a child could be.

I looked at the mirror and said to it
I have left my youth sure behind
Not at heart or in mind
Just in looks that’s there for you to see

I am till day, young at heart and in mind
Living life as I enjoy
Worries and tensions are things of past
Today I am a carefree bird

The mirror asked me how it could be
Age was catching up on me
At fifty, how could I be young
It was time I came to terms with reality

I laughed at the mirror a carefree laugh
And told it I was still young at heart
The looks it saw was but a façade
The real I was in my mind and heart

I still have a treasure within
Something that keeps me young and fit
A treasure I guard with all my might
Something I take out once in a while

The treasure of memories of days gone by
I take out off and on at will
Polish and show and share with my kin
Laugh at things I did as a child

The treasure reminds me of wonderful days
Days I spent with my Dad great
It keeps memories of him alive
The love and care of a wonderful being

The treasure reminds me of the things I owe
To a woman small in height yet big at heart
A woman I can always turn to
A woman I do call my own- my mom

The treasure reminds me of my days as child
Days I spent with my sis bright
The fights, the pranks all are there for me to see
Remind me I was lucky to be me

The treasure reminds me of all those wonderful beings
Who entered my life as friends, philosophers, guides and colleagues
People who taught me life’s lessons each
Things that helped me make me, me

The treasure reminds me of a hand above
Reminds me that it was it that shaped my destiny
Lead me through thick and thin
And helped me lead a life worthwhile

The treasure reminds me of days I spent
Caring for my child along with my man
Enjoying each bit of parenting
Feeling lucky to have both him and her

The mirror looked at me and said
Sure I am wrong and you right, my friend
You opened my eyes to a world new
A world of memories that make you, you

You are young, I must say
The memories are there to stay
The body I see is just a myth
The soul in you is the real you

You are young and beautiful.

************

I am taking part in The Write Tribe Festival of Words 8th – 14th December 2013 at
Write Tribe

Linking to Poets United too.

Inviting you to also visit my other blog i.e. CANVAS

By the way don’t forget to leave your footprints in the form of comments and suggestions. Your words mean a lot to me.

58 responses »

  1. Loved your poem particularly the line “The real I was in my mind and heart”. I too have some wonderful memories of my dad who was the best ever.
    dropping by from the prompt.

    Like

  2. Thank you Jyothi for the inspiring words. I always believe age is all about the mind and not about looks. A child of ten can act as a mother while a grandma of sixty.may act as a child of ten.

    Like

  3. To a woman small in height yet big at heart
    what a lovely line and loved the poem.
    A mirror will only reflect the face , the façade but the smile and joy in the heart reflect the life well lived with all memories.

    Like

  4. lovely poem…and point taken 🙂 young at heart….always 🙂 all the best for the festival. a great start 🙂

    Like

  5. Geeta Ma’am, I envy you. I can never afford to write so beautifully capturing all that is there in my mind. Such beautiful lines they are and I can relate to each one of them. I especially liked the following ones. Great ones! 🙂

    “The treasure reminds me of wonderful days
    Days I spent with my Dad great
    It keeps memories of him alive
    The love and care of a wonderful being

    The treasure reminds me of the things I owe
    To a woman small in height yet big at heart
    A woman I can always turn to
    A woman I do call my own- my mom”

    Like

  6. Really memories are treasure of life. It’s a truth that everyone whether they are friends, philosophers, guides or colleagues they teach us life’s lessons .

    Like

  7. That was a really lovely take on the prompt.
    These lines were really touching…
    “The mirror looked at me and said
    Sure I am wrong and you right, my friend
    You opened my eyes to a world new
    A world of memories that make you, you”

    That was some beautiful poetry!

    Like

  8. It’s great being 50, although that pesky mirror can be a pain. I love this poem, youths should read it and understand, we are still young whose heart and mind hold such treasures.

    Like

  9. Pingback: We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures. | philosiblog

  10. Pingback: Dreams « Fabric of Life

Leave a Reply

