Wings

Standard
Image courtesy -The Mag

Image courtesy -The Mag

Seeing my sleeping child I smiled
It was days since I had her by my side
She looked so innocent and so cute
I could not help kissing her tiny hands

The mother in me had not died I realized
Though it was more than a year since I had her by my side
My duty forced me leave her alone
And fly to land seven seas beyond

I often wondered why I was doing so
Wanted to leave everything and return
But then those other eyes filled with hope bright
Forced me to stay back and toil

Not one day did I forget my little one
She came in my dreams and slept in my arms
The mother in me wiped a tear from her eyes
And sang her a lullaby soft and sweet

Her innocent eyes made me smile
Her painful cry filled my eyes
I wished I could always have her by my side
But destiny would not permit me take her along

I worked as a maid in a land full of hope
Aspiring to build a nest for my babe
I toiled there from morning to night
Wishing to give her the best of life

The thought of her set my wings on fire
Gave me the courage to see a dream for her future
I wanted to give her a better life
So she would not have to suffer as her mother, I

I knew she was safe in this land of mine
A guardian angel was always there by her side.
I knew she would grow up to be strong
The guardian angel would guide her along

She will miss me, I am sure
She will understand me, I also know
The guardian angel will help her grow
Loving the mother who has to leave her alone

************************

Inspired by the photo prompt given at the beginning of the post.

Prompt by

07e78-magpie2btales2bstatue2bstamp2b185

Inviting you to also visit CANVAS another blog of mine, for the latest.

Thank you for stopping by. Look forward to your comments and suggestions.

About Geeta Nair

Born in Independent India to two really wonderful people who cherished and nourished me with great care, I consider myself lucky to have had the best that life could offer me. Lucky to have had the best education , the best sibling, the best husband, the best daughter,the best of everything that I could ever want, Love to live life on my terms .

8 responses »

Leave a Reply

