Nana’s boy

Standard
Courtesy: Morgue File (http://mrg.bz/jnYWqY)

Courtesy: Morgue File (http://mrg.bz/jnYWqY)

I know not what went wrong
They were not on talking terms from long
They did not see eye to eye on anything
Fights and tears were only there for me to see

Busy in themselves were they
Forgot that I was ever there
Mom and dad lived separate lives
Did not have time to spare for me

Nana was my only mate
He held me tight when I was sad
I was his life and he was mine
We shared our sorrows and our joys

Then one day I came home
Saw dad leave never to come back
Mom was there getting ready to leave
Least bothered that dad had left us on our own

Days went by but no word from dad
Mom was busy, so who cared?
Nana and I slowly stopped waiting for dad
Told ourselves he would never be back

Mom started coming home late
Never looked my way nor said a word
Nana tried to talk to her but in vain
She would not hear what he had to say

The bonds between me and nana grew stronger by the day
We clung to each other fearing the other might also go away
Nana took on the mantle of mom and dad
Gave me that love that I yearned for since birth

Then one day there came a storm
Crashing into our lives it took nana along
I looked aghast knowing not what to do
Nana had left leaving me on my own

Today it’s seven days since he is gone
Seven days I wept indoors
Today I step out into fresh air
Leaving for school without a kiss or goodbye

Tears well up blinding my eyes
My nose is sore and shining red
Yet I must go for nana’s sake
To fulfill his dreams for me his mate

Nana’s boy that I am
I must be strong and move ahead
Nana’s dream of a future bright for me
I must fulfill so he can smile

I know he is there in heaven above
Watching each step I tread
Today I leave my past behind
Move ahead to live a life full of promising dreams

Inspired by the theme ‘The Boy’ at

Write Tribe

Inviting you to also visit my other blog i.e. CANVAS

By the way don’t forget to leave your footprints in the form of comments and suggestions.
Your words mean a lot to me.

About Geeta Nair

Born in Independent India to two really wonderful people who cherished and nourished me with great care, I consider myself lucky to have had the best that life could offer me. Lucky to have had the best education , the best sibling, the best husband, the best daughter,the best of everything that I could ever want, Love to live life on my terms .

20 responses »

  1. Hope no child has to go through so much pain… but I’m glad that he is determined to carve out his future and fulfill his Nana’s dreams 🙂

    Like

  2. This is so beautiful Geeta. heart-wrenching. The parents went separate way. they had their own problems but the mother could have spent 10 minutes of the day with her son with hugs and kisses. I s it too much to ask?

    Like

    • Yes sad. He had Nana. But then there are so many children like him who do not have anyone to help them overcome the trauma. They often end up as disillusioned, bitter human beings. My heart goes out to them.

      Like

  3. Very sad and touching story. At least his Nana was there to comfort him for some years. It is his Nana,who influenced him, and he decided to pursue his studies.
    BTW,Geeta, I have nominated your blog for the Blog of the year 2013.Congratulations. Kindly refer to my post on this subject.

    Like

Leave a Reply

