The Boat Ride

Standard
autumn-on-the-river-1889 john singer sargent

autumn-on-the-river-1889 john singer sargent

Rowing, rowing, rowing
Inhaling the sights around
Drenched in the morning sunlight
Saw beauty all around

Water kissing shores
Then running to meet the sea
Trees nodding their heads
Enjoying the caressing breeze

Birds flying overhead
Keeping a watch on me
Fearing I’d fall overboard
Or catch the fish to eat

The horizon came nearer and nearer
A wall ready to stop me ahead
Miles and miles I traveled
Only to find it a myth

People I met on the way
People I left behind
People I saw in the distance
All strangers yet wishing goodbye

My hands started to ache
The oars felt heavy and tired
The caressing wind on my cheeks
Sang a lullaby to send me to sleep

I know not when the oars
Fell from my hand overboard
I know not when my eyes
Decided to close and rest

The chirp of birds around
The sound of men not far
The roar of a motor in the distance
Woke me from slumber deep

The sun was smiling at me
Reminding me it was time I got on my feet
I looked around to find
I was there where I had started the dream.

****************

Theme for the post is the photo prompt given at the beginning of the post.

Written for The Mag

You may also like to visit my other blog CANVAS

Thank you for stopping by. Looking forward to your feedback in the comment box below.

About Geeta Nair

Born in Independent India to two really wonderful people who cherished and nourished me with great care, I consider myself lucky to have had the best that life could offer me. Lucky to have had the best education , the best sibling, the best husband, the best daughter,the best of everything that I could ever want, Love to live life on my terms .

7 responses »

Leave a Reply

