The awe inspiring, beautiful seven

Image courtesy of graur codrin at

Image courtesy of graur codrin at

Droplets of water
Brilliant riot of colours
Rainbow hues did see.


The seeker in him
Sought the meaning of true love
Found it deep within.


Mistook horizon
Believed the earth ended there
Just an illusion.

(The number 7 is said to represent
the seeker, the thinker, the searcher
of Truth. 7 is aware that nothing is
exactly as it looks. Reality is often
hidden behind illusions.)


Dreams of beloved
Seven seas separating
Ah! So romantic.


From Fars to Sanji
Many hues of life revealed
mesmerizing world.

( Here Fars to Sanji means the
route from the Sea of Fars i.e
Persian Sea to the Sea of Sanji
i.e Sea of China. This was the
route to China which covered
seven seas in all)


All through Mon. to Sat.
Life’s wheel rotates at snail’s pace
Sunday puts on wings.


Searching, researching
Solar world is intriguing
Seven diverse worlds


Seven dazzling stars
lighting up the dark night sky
Yogis there above.

( Here the ‘Yogis’ are the Seven
great sages or ‘Saptarishis’
mentioned in Indian Mythology.
They are Vasishta, Marich, Angirasa,
Atri, Pualsthya, Pulaaha and Krathu.
Belief has it that they are the seven
bright stars representing Constelation
Ursa Major)


The magic strings weaved
Melody pure and touching
Aah! Treat for the heart.

( Here I refer to the ‘Saptaswara’
or seven musical notes ie Sa, Re,
Ga, Ma, Pa, Dha, Ne)


Seven wedding vows
Seven steps together take
Holy fire witness

( The seven vows is a very significant
ritual in majority Hindu marriages.
Encircling the Holy fire they make one
vow to each other with each step round.
Only after taking the seven rounds are
they declared husband and wife. Each
step has a special significance.)


Incredible east
Unexplored paradise green
Pure divinity.

( Unexplored paradise referred to here
are the seven contiguous sister states
of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya,
Manipur, Tripura, Nagaland and Manipur
in North East India )

Image courtesy of Somchai Som at

Image courtesy of Somchai Som at

Seven wonders old
Awe inspiring creations
Truly amazing


Crushing down demons
Protecting the lovable
Goddesses seven

( The seven hindu goddesses are
Brahmani, Vaishnavi, Maheshwari,
Indrani, Kaumari, Varahi and Chamunda
or Narasimhi. They are usually depicted
as a heptad and are know as Saptamatrikas
meaning “seven mothers”)

Inspired by the theme at

Inviting you to also visit my blog at blogspot to check out the latest stories posted there

By the way do not forget to leave your footprints in the form of comments and suggestions. Your words mean a lot to me.


13 responses »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.